Dallas Out-of-State Driver Accident Attorney

Out of state auto accident Driving in another state does not mean that you can be less careful about adhering to traffic rules or that you no longer owe other motorists a duty of care. In fact, an out-of-state driver in Texas can do much more damage than someone who’s familiar with Texas traffic laws.

State laws vary greatly, which means something that is considered illegal under Texas law may be completely legal in another state. As you can imagine, determining liability in a car accident involving an out-of-state driver can be a very time-consuming and complicated process, which is why victims are advised to consult with a Dallas car accident lawyers to ensure that their claim is handled properly and they are getting the maximum compensation.

Out-of-state driver’s liability is not always clear

Here at Law Office of Dorothy Hyde, our car accident lawyers with decades of experience behind their backs say that motor vehicle collisions involving out-of-state motorists are the worst, because there are many bureaucratic and legal issues that might arise during that case.

For example, car accidents involving out-of-state drivers almost always involve insurance issues. While Texas is not a no-fault state, many other states require their motorists to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP), also known as “no-fault” insurance coverage, which enables the victim to seek compensation for his or her losses and damages without having to prove that the other motorist was at fault.

Insurance issues in car accidents involving out-of-state motorists

In Texas, every motorist is required by law to carry liability auto insurance to cover damages and losses for the other motorist(s) involved. If you were negligent in a car crash, and that negligence caused or contributed to the accident, you will be responsible for paying all medical expenses and property damage expenses for yourself and all other parties involved.

Our Dallas out-of-state driver accident attorney from Law Office of Dorothy Hyde reminds that Texas law requires motorists to have a minimum of liability auto insurance coverage consisting of:

  • At least $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
  • At least $25,000 for property damages and
  • At least $60,000 for bodily injuries per accident.

As you may have guessed by now, an out-of-state driver is not bound by Texas’s auto insurance requirements and may not carry PIP coverage, which can make it extremely difficult to seek maximum compensation to pay for all your damages and losses.

Filing a lawsuit against an out-of-state driver to recover damages

This is why most victims of car crashes caused by out-of-state drivers have to file a lawsuit against the other driver in order to obtain the needed compensation. Do keep in mind that if a car crash occurred in Dallas or elsewhere in Texas, the lawsuit must be filed in Texas and the state’s negligence law will apply to determine fault and the amount of damages.

Texas law will also dictate the amounts that can be collected by the victim for each type of damage and loss suffered in the crash. This makes things very confusing because state laws vary greatly regarding the available types of claims that can be brought by the injured party and the amount of money that can be recovered through the lawsuit.

You may want to discuss your case with an experienced car accident lawyer in Dallas or elsewhere in Texas at Law Office of Dorothy Hyde. Give us a call at (214) 883-1700 to schedule a free consultation today.